The Fish-Bird Project was an art-science collaboration that resulted in an installation exploring the possibilities of creating a dialogue between two robot wheelchairs and human visitors using movement and written text.

There is a lot of information about the project available from the above link. The particular ideas behind this project that interest me are:

  • Trust
  • Intimacy
  • Non-anthropomorphic representation
  • Not cute
  • Movement implying being and being alive
  • Movement as communication
  • Movement and text creating the “sense of a person” (aided by the absence implied by the wheelchairs)
  • Movement indicating awareness, mood, intention

This looks like a great example for my thesis (thanks, Chantal :-), and if I can make it to Sydney I should be able to make arrangements to meet Fish and Bird, although I don’t know if I’ll be able to interact with them in the way shown in the video on the website.